Simple Living

rabbit

Lately I have been thinking about how I should live out the rest of my life. Shall I fill it up with activities or not? For the past dozen years I have been quite busy, first with techie jobs at my old Evangelical church, then teaching high school for five years, then attending college for two years and finally another year of teaching high school, which came to an end this June. My calendar used to be filled with assignments, lesson plans, tests (both to give and to take), church obligations and meetings. Nowadays I don’t even need a calendar except to see if it’s Sunday yet.

I thought about ways to fill up the time. I considered joining a history club at the community college, or taking Russian language lessons, or becoming a docent, or volunteering for charitable organizations. I even gave some thought to re-applying for my old job at the Evangelical high school. But none of these ideas really appealed to me.

What I really want to do is live the live of a quiet Christian. I would like to have enough time to talk to my neighbors, to fix my husband good meals, to show better stewardship over my garden, and to have time to help out our kids and granddaughter. This desire was strengthened by a letter from Father Thaddaeus in the church’s newsletter where he encouraged us to opt out of the American passion for busyness. Fr. Thaddaeus’ letter was the confirmation I needed!

I’m going to see where this all leads and I will be using Xenia’s Garden to chronicle my journey from busyness to simplicity.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debd
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 14:56:27

    I’m so glad you will be blogging about this. Even though I am several years away from an empty nest, I do think about what I will be doing once I’ve left this season of life behind. I’ve also thought that I would like a simpler and quieter life.

  2. Xenia
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 18:14:09

    Deb, how good to see you!

  3. Mary Ann
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 16:59:54

    I have been trying to gradually slow down the general pace of my life for some time, but have had to revel in small victories. I have learned to enjoy the smallness of a victory though, in an effort to see more details in life. God bless your efforts!

  4. Xenia
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 00:10:00

    Hello Mary Ann!!!

  5. Mary Ann
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 02:17:05

    Howdy right back at you!

Leave a Reply

