Vegan Extras

Generally I stay away from faux meat and dairy products.  Vegetarians are supposed to eat vegetables.  When I used to run a food co-op years ago,  the hippie who drove the delivery truck would scowl at the meat analogs and say “I stay away from food that I couldn’t make in my own kitchen if I wanted to.”   A lot of veg-friendly food is highly processed but I think if  you use them sparingly,  these “extras”  can add variety.

From left to right:

Fake bacon bits.  These are Bac ‘Ums  by Frontier Natural Products.  These tasty little crumbs  greatly improve scrambled tofu,  potato salad  and bean soup.

Soy creamer.   This carton comes from Trader Joe’s.   I am ambivalent about these fake creamers and generally take my coffee black.  But they sell it if you want it.

Earth Balance Margarine.   I really enjoy this stuff.  Good on toast,  noodles-  everything you’d put margarine on.  They sell it in cubes for baking, too.

Fake cream cheese and the like:   This tub is made by Tofutti.  Not bad on  quick breads.

Mayonnaise:  Pictured  is garlic flavored mayonnaise called Aioli by Wild Wood.  There’s other brands,  usually sold in the cooler.    Some sandwiches seem to need mayo and this stuff is delish in cole slaw and potato salad, too.

Fake Chicken Broth Powder:   That’s what’s in the mason jar.  I find this stuff to be cheaper and tastier than commercial veggie broth.  It’s good in soup.  Quite salty.   I buy it in the bulk bins at the health food store.

Fake Parmesan Cheese:  Good on spaghetti!

Sausages:   The one in the picture is made by the people who make Field Roast but I especially like Trader Joe’s  Soy Chorizo.   Frozen meatless meatballs,  such as the kinds sold at Trader Joe’s,  are good, too.

I think the less of this stuff you eat,  probably the better.    I would prefer to eat mostly fresh vegetables,  fruit and whole grains.  But a little bit now and then gives variety and encourages the reluctant vegans in the household to make the transition.    When I go shopping I would rather my cart be full of produce with just a few little processed goodies for pizazz.

[This is Day 1 of VeganMoFo.]

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tami (Vegan Appetite)
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 13:58:24

    I’m with you that these foods have a place. Especially earth balance! My life wouldn’t be the same without it.

  2. Xenia
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 17:22:55

    Hi Tami, thank you for visiting!

  3. Jeni Treehugger
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 22:00:12

    I have to make all my fake meats (except soya mince) because nowhere round here sells any. Homemade is definitely the best but sometimes I’d like to just grab something from the fridge or freezer. Oooh I was forgetting Linda Mcartney sausages – I buy those quite a lot as well.
    Happy MoFo’ing
    🙂

  4. Xenia
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 13:07:31

    Hi Jeni, thanks for dropping by. I think people do their best. During some of life’s seasons, convenience foods are very helpful and for old folks like me who have all the time in the world to putter around in the kitchen, I like to make stuff from scratch most of the time.

  5. last minute wycieczki
    May 19, 2011 @ 23:43:31

    Thank you for rhe news, love to hear more.

Leave a Reply

