Favorite Cookbooks: Oldies But Goodies

All we had for dinner tonight were leftovers so no new recipes to share today.  I thought I’d write some short reviews for older veg*n cookbooks that  younger folks may be unfamiliar with but are still in print.

TEN TALENTS,  by  Frank and Rosalie Hurd. This is an old-timey cookbook put out by a Seventh Day Adventist couple and is the source of two of my favorite recipes,  Cashew Gravy and a spaghetti casserole made with pimento cheese and cashews. I am on my second copy.  You can buy it here.  I can’t vouch for the 7th Day Adventist doctrine but it’s a very good book.

THE FARM VEGETARIAN COOKBOOK. Since the members of the Farm commune grow their own crops,  this small book has a lot of recipes for farm products like corn and soybeans with very little reference to packaged convenience food.    For example,  the lasagna recipe assumes you are planning to make your own lasagna noodles from the year’s wheat crop.  Recipes calling for soy milk assume you are starting from scratch with your own beans.   Nevertheless,  the recipes are still useful and can be easily adapted for less agriculturally-minded people and the book itself is a glimpse into a fascinating sub-culture.  You can buy it here from Amazon.

TOFU COOKERY by Louise Hagler.  I’ve used this book for 25 years.  This book is especially useful for making ordinary food,  like enchiladas, using tofu.  My favorite section is the desert chapter near the end,  especially the cream pies!  Order it from Amazon.

THE NEW MCDOUGALL COOKBOOK is based on the famous McDougall diet,  which is vegan and extremely low-fat.  Years ago I lost considerable weight following this plan but alas,  I also lost my hair.  I do not pretend to be smarter than Dr. McDougall who I admire very much but I think we do need to eat a little fat.  (My hair all grew back when I started putting margarine on my toast and olive oil on my salads.)  But apart from that quibble,  this is a great cookbook and has some especially nice soup recipes.  You can order it from Dr. McDougall’s web site.

Today is the 6th day of VeganMoFo and NaNoWriMo.
Remember to set your clocks back tonight!

Today is the day the Church commemorates  the Joy of All Who Sorrow icon.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. VeganFoodRocks
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 20:07:12

    I have Tofu Cookery! I love it! I think my mom found it at a used book store for me!

  2. Xenia
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 21:40:13

    I love that book! Have you made anything from it?

Leave a Reply

