Spring Garden!

I think I can declare this year’s garden PLANTED!  Now it’s just a matter of watering,  fertilizing, weeding and eating.  The winter was very dry at first and I was afraid we’d have water rationing this summer,  but we had a rainier than usual spring so I am optimistic that I can water the garden without any worries.

Image

The hens are doing well, although we had a foxglove incident that makes me shudder to think about.  I always have foxglove in the yard,  which as we all know,  is quite poisonous.  However,  none of my animals ever ate it, not even Mrs. Rabbit,  so I figured the animals were exercising their God-given common sense.  But maybe chickens don’t have this feature…   Anyway,  I looked one morning and the foxglove showed definite signs of some serious nibbling.  And Flo was acting oddly-  not eating and wanting to sleep.  But, thank the Lord,  they all recovered and we put a fence around the foxglove to prevent future mishaps.  It’s so easy to make a dumb mistake that can kill your animals.  We generally get three eggs each day,  sometimes four.   During Lent I froze a lot of eggs by blending them and storing them in small containers but the results are not very appetizing.  I’ve been feeding them to Lilly the Farm Dog.

Farm Dog at Work

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Orthodox Collective

Leave a Reply

